Admission and Secondary Transfer

Admission and Secondary Transfer.

Admission and Secondary Transfer.

All admissions to this community school are handled by the London Borough of Enfield Admissions Dept.




Children are admitted to the Reception class in the September after their fourth birthday (September being the beginning of the school year). We are currently able to offer 30 places in Reception and follow the London Borough of Enfield Admissions Policy. Please click on this link to the   online portal application form Between October and December school tours are arranged to show prospective parents of children who are joining Reception class the following September around the school and answer any questions. The forms must be completed on line by mid January. Please contact the school office in the October before your child is due to start school for current information 020 8440 4359.

Applying for a place at Hadley Wood School

If you child will be 5 between 1st September 2018 and 31st August 2019, you should apply for a school place by 15th  January 2019. Please contact the school office in October to book a place on our parent tours. Details of our admissions criteria are available on our webpage.

Transfer to secondary schools

As a Community School, we follow the Pan-London admission procedure for tranfer to secondary school. During the early part of the autumn term every child in Year 6 is given information about all the secondary schools in the Borough of Enfield. Southgate Secondary School gives precedence to families living within Hadley Wood.

All secondary schools have an open evening when parents may visit the school, with or without their children, before making a choice regarding the future education of their child. Parents applying to Grant Maintained schools need to apply directly to the schools of their choice.

A meeting is held in school  to explain the secondary transfer procedures and to answer parents’ questions.

The pupils of Hadley Wood School have transferred to a variety of Secondary Schools over the past years some of which are :- Southgate Secondary, East Barnet, JCOSS, Dame Alice Owen, Haberdasher Aske’s School for Boys, Haberdasher Aske’s School for Girls, Mill Hill County, Mount Grace, Chancellors, Aldenham, Ashmole, Highlands, JFS, Queen Elizabeth Girls, QE Boys, St Albans Boys, St Albans Girls, St. Anne’s Catholic High School for Girls, St Columbas, The Latymer School, Verulam School, Belmont Mill Hill, Queenswood, Finchley Catholic, Henrietta Barnett, North London Collegiate, St. Martha’s, St. Andrew The Apostle Greek Orthodox School.